GSA is pleased to announce the election of six new members to our Board of Directors. The new Board members will begin their term on January 1, 2016, and will serve for three years. GSA has also issued a press release providing more information about each of the new Board members.


Vice-President (and President-Elect)

Lynn_Cooley_imgLynn Cooley, PhD
C.N.H. Long Professor of Genetics;
Professor of Cell Biology and Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology; and
Dean, Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, Yale University

Member, GSA Board of Directors, 2013–2015
Associate Editor, GENETICS, 2011–present
Editor-in-Chief, FlyBook, GENETICS, 2014–present
Organizer, 2009 Drosophila Research Conference
President, North American Drosophila Board, 2004–2005

GENETICS Author, 2015, 2015, 2015, 2007, 2002, 1997, 1996



David_Greenstein_imgDavid Greenstein, PhD
Professor of Genetics, Cell Biology, and Development
University of Minnesota

Associate Editor, GENETICS, 2006–present
Organizer, 2009 International
C. elegans Meeting

GENETICS Author, 2014, 2014, 2014, 2012, 2012



JoAnne_Engebrecht_imgJoAnne Engebrecht, PhD
Professor, Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology
University of California, Davis

Associate Editor, GENETICS, 2007–2013

GENETICS Author, 2014, 2010, 2007, 2005, 2002, 2001, 2001, 1998, 1998, 1995, 1992, 1989



Erika_L_Matunis_imgErika Matunis, PhD
Professor, Department of Cell Biology; and
Institute for Cellular Engineering
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Organizer, 2012 Drosophila Research Conference

GENETICS Author, 2007



Eric_U_Selker_imgEric Selker, PhD
Professor of Biology
University of Oregon

Associate Editor, GENETICS, 2010–present
Fungal Genetics Policy Committee, 2009–2015

GENETICS Author, 2010, 2009, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2007, 2005, 2002, 1999, 1998, 1997, 1997, 1996, 1995, 1994, 1994, 1991, 1991, 1986



Huntington_F_Willard_imgHuntington Willard, PhD
President and Director
The Marine Biological Laboratory, Woods Hole, MA; and
Professor of Human Genetics
University of Chicago

President, American Society of Human Genetics, 2001

GENETICS Author, 2012, 2012, 2006, 2003



We also offer thanks to the members of the Board who will be completing their current service at the end of 2015:

  • Vicki Chandler, PhDImmediate Past President
  • Anne Villeneuve, PhDSecretary
  • Lynn Cooley, PhDDirector
  • Sarah C.R. Elgin, PhDDirector
  • Anna Di Rienzo, PhDDirector
  • Deborah A. Siegele, PhDDirector
  • Andrew AdrianTrainee Representative


Additional Information:

Adam Fagen was formerly Executive Director of the Genetics Society of America.

View all posts by Adam Fagen »