GSA condemns, in the strongest possible terms, the eight murders in Georgia this past week that claimed six people of Asian descent, along with the rising tide of hate and violence directed against the Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) community. Importantly, all but one of the victims were women; the sexual violence of these crimes highlights the persistence of sexual aggression and harassment against Asian women. GSA condemns all instances of sexual violence and harassment, and we renew our commitment to addressing these issues as a member of the Societies Consortium on Sexual Harassment in STEMM.

The GSA leadership stands united in support of the AAPI community and against xenophobia, racism, sexism, and hate. We are outraged and saddened. We extend our deepest sympathy to the families and friends of the victims. 

What can we do, as individuals, to stop these hate crimes? First, speak out when you witness racist, sexist, and/or anti-AAPI sentiments being shared. Each of us can contribute to making our personal and professional spaces safe and supportive by not allowing these types of rhetoric to go unchallenged. Additionally, this website allows individuals to report acts of hate against Asian American and Pacific Islander communities: Finally, reach out to your AAPI colleagues and trainees to show your support and to recognize the valuable contributions they make to our society. 

The GSA strives to adhere to the highest standards of equity and inclusion in its conferences, journals, and professional development programs. When we fall short we need to know, so please send any comments, reports, and suggestions to

Executive Committee, on behalf of the Board of Directors
Hugo Bellen President
Jane Hubbard, Vice-President
Denise Montell, Immediate Past President
Erika Matunis, Secretary
Mike Buszczak, Treasurer
Steve Munger, At-Large Director

Executive Director, on behalf of the Society
Tracey DePellegrin

Equity and Inclusion Committee
Noah Whiteman, Chair, University of California, Berkeley
Jessica Aguilar, University of California, Berkeley
Anna Allen, Howard University
Derek Applewhite, Reed College
Andrew Arsham, Bemidji State University
Gustavo MacIntosh, Iowa State University
Shan Meltzer, Harvard University
Alana O’Reilly, Fox Chase Cancer Center
Nadia Singh, University of Oregon
Chiyedza Small, City University of New York, Medgar Evers College
Rebecca Tarvin, University of California, Berkeley
Quan Yuan, National Institutes of Health
Sarah Bay, Staff Liaison