National Academy of Inventors (PRNewsFoto/National Academy of Inventors)

National Academy of Inventors (PRNewsFoto/National Academy of Inventors)

Current GSA President Jasper Rine and former GSA President H. Robert Horvitz have been named to the 2015 class of Fellows by the National Academy of Inventors (NAI). According to the NAI press release, “election to NAI Fellow status is a high professional distinction accorded to academic inventors who have demonstrated a highly prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development, and welfare of society.”

Nominees must be named as an inventor on at least one patent issued by the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office and be affiliated with a university, nonprofit research institute or other academic entity.


Jasper Rine

Jasper D. Rine, PhD
Professor of Genetics, Genomics, and Development
University of California, Berkeley
HHMI Professor
GSA President, 2015
Reviews Editor, GENETICS
Associate Editor, G3: Genes|Genomes|Genetics


H. Robert Horvitz

H. Robert Horvitz, PhD
David H. Koch Professor of Biology
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
HHMI Investigator
GSA President, 1995
GSA Medal, 2001
Gruber Genetics Prize, 2002
Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, 2002


Rine and Horvitz are among 168 named this year, bringing the total number of NAI Fellows to 582. Collectively, these Fellows hold more than 20,000 U.S. patents.


Additional Information:

Adam Fagen was formerly Executive Director of the Genetics Society of America.

View all posts by Adam Fagen »