Several members of the GSA community were elected to the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) at their annual meeting this year. Election to NAS is considered one of the highest honors for scientists in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Congratulations to the following outstanding scientists:


Bonnie Bartel 

Ralph and Dorothy Looney Professor of Biochemistry and Cell Biology, department of biosciences, Rice University, Houston

GSA Board of Directors, 2011-2013
GENETICS Editor, 2002 -2012 

James J. Bull

Johann Friedrich Miescher Regents Professor, department of integrative biology, The University of Texas, Austin

GENETICS Editor, 2010-2014; Associate Editor, 2015; Author, 2013
G3 Author, 2013

Hongjie Dai

J.G. Jackson and C.J. Wood Professor of Chemistry, department of chemistry, Stanford University, Stanford, Calif.

Joseph DeRisi

investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute; and professor and chair, department of biochemistry and biophysics, University of California, San Francisco

Mary Lou Guerinot

professor, department of biological sciences, Dartmouth College, Hanover, N.H.

Philip Hieter

professor of medical genetics, Michael Smith Laboratories, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada

GSA President, 2012; Vice-President, 2011
GSA Board of Directors, 1995-1997
GENETICS Author, 2013, 2014

Hopi E. Hoekstra

investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute; and Alexander Agassiz Professor of Zoology, departments of organismic and evolutionary biology and of molecular and cellular biology, Harvard University, Cambridge, Mass.

GENETICS Author, 2013

Krishna K. Niyogi

investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute; faculty scientist, physical biosciences division, DOE-Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory; and professor, department of plant and microbial biology, University of California, Berkeley

Amita Sehgal

investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute; and John Herr Musser Professor of Neuroscience, Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia

TAGC Keynote Speaker, 2016

Geraldine Seydoux

investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute; and professor, department of molecular biology and genetics, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore

GSA Board of Directors, 2005-2007
G3 Author, 2013; GENETICS Author, 2014


NAS members are elected by current active members through a selective process that recognizes individuals who have made major contributions to the advancement of scientific research. The newly elected members raise NAS’s total active membership to 2,291 and the number of international members to 465.

The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit institution that was established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. It recognizes achievement in science by election to membership, and collaborates with the National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, and National Research Council to provide science, technology, and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations. Membership in the NAS is widely regarded as a mark of excellence in scientific research.

Additional Information:




Chloe Poston is the Policy and Communications Manager for the Genetics Society of America where she serves as a liaison to the Public Policy Committee. She has a background in bio-analytical chemistry and science policy.

View all posts by Chloe Poston »