We are pleased to announce the GSA Poster Award winners from the 58th Annual Drosophila Research Conference! Undergraduate and graduate student members of the GSA were eligible for the awards, and a hard-working team of postdocs volunteered their time as judges. Congratulations to all!

Undergraduate Students

1st Place: Cezary Mikoluk

Institution: Penn State Berks

Poster title: The regulation of lipid storage by tra and tra2 in Drosophila

Authors: Cezary Mikoluk, Alexis Nagengast, and Justin DiAngelo

2nd Place: P. Tram Bui

Institution: Claremont McKenna College

Poster title: Chd1 as a modifier of position effect variegation

Authors: P. Tram Bui, Lakshmi Bugga, and Jennifer Armstrong

3rd Place: Kalyn Gackowski

Institution: Marquette University

Poster title: Identification of Lipid-Processing Genes Required for Eggshell Formation in Drosophila

Authors: Kalyn Gackowski and Edward M Blumenthal

Graduate Students

1st Place: Dong-Yuan Chen

Institution: University of California, Berkeley

Poster title: Developing M-TRAIL: A tool to track cell migration in vivo

Authors: Dong-Yuan Chen and David Bilder

2nd Place: Tammara Beeghly

Institution: University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Poster title: Trade-offs between fecundity and survival in starvation-selected fly populations

Authors: Tammara Beeghly, Allen Gibbs, Timothy Saitta, and Laurel Raftery

3rd Place: Jessica Douthit

Institution: New York University School of Medicine

Poster title: A novel role for Plexin A in photoreceptor axon guidance

Authors: Jessica Douthit, Sergio Astigarraga, Gina Lee, and Jessica Treisman