The Gruber Foundation has issued a call for nominations for its 2016 Gruber International Prize Program, honoring leaders in Genetics, Cosmology, and Neuroscience.

Gruber Foundation

Each prize, which is accompanied by a $500,000 unrestricted monetary award, is designed both to recognize groundbreaking work in each field and to inspire additional efforts that affect fundamental shifts in knowledge and culture.

Gruber Genetics PrizeMembers of the GSA community are well represented among the previous Gruber Prize laureates (GSA members in bold):

  • 2015: Emmanuelle Charpentier, Jennifer Doudna (TAGC Keynote Speaker), for establishing a framework for universal genome editing
  • 2014: Victor Ambros (GSA Board 2007–2009, GSA Medal 2006), David Baulcombe, Gary Ruvkun, for pioneering the study of small non-coding RNAs
  • 2013: Svante Pääbo (TAGC Keynote Speaker), for pioneering the analysis of ancient DNA
  • 2012: Douglas C. Wallace, for his groundbreaking contributions to mitochondrial genetics
  • 2011: Ronald Davis (GSA Medal 1998), for his pioneering development and application of recombinant-DNA techniques
  • 2010: Gerald Fink (GSA President 1988, GSA Medal 1982, George W. Beadle Award 2001), whose work in yeast genetics advanced the field of molecular genetics
  • 2009: Janet Davison Rowley, for her seminal discoveries in molecular oncology
  • 2008: Allan C. Spradling (GSA President 2007, GSA Treasurer 1987–1989, GSA Medal 1987, George W. Beadle Award 2003), for his work on fly genomics
  • 2007: Maynard V. Olson (GSA Board 2003–2005, GSA Medal 1992), for his contributions to genome science
  • 2006: Elizabeth H. Blackburn (GSA Board 2000–2002), for her studies of telomeres and telomerase, and her science advocacy
  • 2005: Robert H. Waterston (George W. Beadle Award 2000), for his pivotal role in the Human Genome Project
  • 2004: Mary-Claire King, for three major findings in modern genetics: the similarity of the human and chimpanzee genomes, finding a gene that predisposes to breast cancer, and forensic genetics
  • 2003: David Botstein (GSA President 1997, GSA Board 1984–1985, GSA Medal 1988), a driving force in modern genetics who established the ground rules for human genetic mapping
  • 2002: H. Robert Horvitz (GSA President 1995, GSA Board 1990–1992, GSA Medal 2001), who defined genetic pathways responsible for programmed cell death
  • 2001: Rudolf Jaenisch, who created the first transgenic mouse to study human disease

Recipients are selected by a committee of distinguished experts in each field. The current Genetics Selection Advisory Board includes several GSA members: Bonnie L. Bassler, Utpal Banerjee, and Martin Chalfie.

Nomination forms should be completed and submitted online. Please go to for complete details and access to forms.

The deadline for nominations is December 15, 2015.

Adam Fagen was formerly Executive Director of the Genetics Society of America.

View all posts by Adam Fagen »